Customer reviews for Soleus Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Soleus Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Enjoy portable comfort with the Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU portable air conditioner. This easy to use portable AC rapidly cools indoor areas!
Overall rating:
4.659 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(88 reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 88 reviews
5 Stars
65
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
83 out of 88(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Review 1 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is perfect for what I wanted to use it for.

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Mandy126
from Brookings, SD
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product was purchased after doing a lot of research on different but similar products. The reason for choosing this product were based on the price and the square footage it was sufficiently able to cool, the product's reviews, it's size for where I planned using it, etc.
So far I am very satisfied with the product. Set up was fairly simple and self-explanatory as well as use of the product. The remote makes adjustments even easier. I was surprised how quickly the room cools off only shortly after turning on the air conditioner. The only reason that I rated energy sufficient at average is because I haven't gotten a utility bill since I have started using the product.
When ordering this product price was definitely a huge factor. This product seemed to be of high quality at a reasonable price. After I ordered the product and checked back a couple days later I found that it was $40 cheaper if I were to order it that day. I sent an email to customer service and my money was refunded the next day. I was especially happy with the way customers are treated here at Air-n-Water. I will definitely be shopping here again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy With The Product & Air & Water, Inc.

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Customer avatar
tajohnson57
from Chicago, IL
Product Construction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Even though we have Central Air my room is farthest from the furnace and is warmer in the summer. I hooked this up and can sleep comfortable in the hot nights. I like the size it's not as big as a previous one I had and it was easy to install. I would definitely recommend this product.
I am also happy with Air & Water Inc., It took less than a week for delivery and arrived in excellent condition. I will definitely do business with them again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact and efficient

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer avatar
CrankyYankee
from Trumbull, CT, USA
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hasn't really been hot enough to test completely, but we're very happy with this product and our experience with Air-N-Water. Personal attention from the company makes them the go-to source for these types of products for us.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product does the job required.

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer avatar
El Rey
from Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Soleus KY-80 to cool off a small enclosure that I built to house a noisy computer server that is located in a conference room at my work. The server is very noisy and puts out hot air, up to 130F, so the room would never get cool enough from the central air conditioner. The KY-80 fit my needs perfectly. My conference room is now quiet and my server is staying cool with the KY-80 which is critical to the operations at my company.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works exactly as described

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Sher
from San Diego, California
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficient 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a small office and needed a new portable air conditioner here. This product works great, maintains an even temperature so I don't have to think about it throughout a busy day. The remote works well, too, which isn't always the case in my experience with fans, etc.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EASY TO USE AND EFFECTIVE

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer avatar
LON
from California, USA
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
4 / 5
4 / 5
THE HEAT AND HUMIDITY (83%) IN THE LIVING ROOM/DINING ROOM WAS TOO MUCH FOR THE UNIT. HOWEVER, I PLACED IN THE MASTER BEDROOM UPSTAIRS AND LIFE IMPROVED 100%! ALSO, THE MANAGER WAS A GEM. SHE HELPED IN GETTING THE UNIT OUT TO ME QUICKLY WITH NO STRESS. SOUTHERN CAL WAS HOT AND HUMID--SO RARE.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well functioning vented portable AC used in travel trailer

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Cooler Cat
from Wisconsin, USA
Product Construction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to Install 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Easy to Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficient 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Only one general criticism to get out of the way has to do with the info that the window space holder for the vent can be cut to size if necessary. Perhaps, but it is hard plastic and you'll have to think carefully of what tools to use, ( (perhaps AIR and WATER has a suggestion).
The rest of my review relates to use in a fiberglass trailer 7 ft by 10 feet. A small size but I hoped the greater heat load would make the task sufficiently difficult for the 8000 BTU's to not keep cycling off.
We've had our trailer since 2003 with ceiling fan that opens for outside air. Always traveling with two dogs and avoiding the hot weather, this year had too much heat.
The unit worked effectively, especially since I did not have to get up at all during the night to empty water out of the reservoir. I'm confident this unit will work as a backup air conditioner at home if any of our units should suddenly fail. I was also pleased to have access to this instruction manual courtesy of Air and Water (it was key in purchase decison).
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Air-N-WaterBy GustavCustomer ServiceAugust 27, 2012
We are glad to hear that your Soleus KY-80 is working well for you. When looking to cut the window kit to fit a smaller size window we suggest using a saw of some sort. If you have a bench type circular saw or even handheld rotary saw (like a Dremel) you should be able to make short work of the window kit. Handheld saws designed to cut pvc pipe or other plastics will also work well. You might even be able to take the piece to a major hardware store and have them cut it to the desired length. Best of luck.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great unit!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Tim F.
from Fremont, CA, USA
Product Construction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this unit to cool my bedroom with vaulted ceilings. The unit works great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it's so portable fits great in my camper.

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Paula J
from Taylors Falls, Mn
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a A.C. unit for my pop up camper and this fit the bill. I'm so happy was my new portableSoleus A.C. from Air-n-Water.You have to try
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good air conditioner for small space

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer avatar
lec5664
from Garden Grove
Product Construction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to Install 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For under 300.00 I am happy with the overall operation of this unit. Fairly quiet and enough cool air for a small room.
Highly recommended for a budget air conditioner.
Setting up is less than half an hour.
Window accessories kit was well designed for easy installation.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a Fabulous Air Conditioner!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Happygirl45
from Buffalo, NY
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this little gem! It is very powerful and takes up hardly any space. It cools down my room in about 10 minutes. It was also extremely easy to install. I am actually thinking about getting another for my living room. I am so glad I found this website!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value for a 300 to 500 sq ft unit

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
gator89
from Orlando, FL, USA
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just bought this last month for my son in college. I did a lot of homework on buying the right unit. He has no A/C in the apartment ( approx 500 sq ft). He has said it has cooled the entire apartment very well. It was a little tricky with the window vent. We did have to put the A/C unit on a self made wooden pedestal to reach the window ledge. Pay attention to this. But the hose was plenty long enough to make it all work.
Overall, great price and great construction. By the way Air&water's customer service from head to toe was great! I would use them again. Ordering/Shipping was right on time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple solution for my office.

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Tired of being hot.
from Williston, ND 58801, USA
Product Construction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I needed simple to use to cool my office with. I found this product OB Air n Water and decided to give it a try. Great product. Very portable and easy to use. I would recommend this product to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Air and Water people were great

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Product Construction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to Install 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product didn't work for me because of its size and the space I wanted to put it in. However, the return process was simple and efficient although, due to the well advertised stocking fee, expensive.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and cool

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Jack Frost
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very compact yet very powerful. Not any louder than my last one. I really like them, bought 2.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome unit, great design, awesome performance

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Brandon454ss
from Gresham, OR, USA
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use it in my 5x12' work trailer that is black... Heats up a lot in 80-100 degree weather and this unit keeps it nice and cool, simple to install and use. For the price it would be difficult (if possible) to find a better bang for your buck.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great a/c unit

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer avatar
roc'zombie
from biloxi ms.
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finally a real good portable cooling machine that can be set up and used anywhere. Works as described, highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for dry areas and smaller rooms

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Irishball20
from Colorado springs
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this unit in my baby's room which is a 10x10. I'm in Colorado so I don't have to drain the unit an sit cools the room down to the low 70's pretty quickly(1hr or so). Keeps my kids sleeping! It is quieter than the 14000 but unit I bought for my bedroom but that is to be expected with the lower but rating. I also like the window kit it came with, sits foush with the window and is easy to install. Would highly recommend for smaller rooms.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is perfect! It cools the room quickly and easily and the portable feature is priceless. We have already moved it to various rooms while doing home improvement projects and it has made them much more bearable in this 90 degree heat. Great product!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Soleus KY-80 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good AC, a difficult to cool space

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer avatar
MilesD
from Boston, MA
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Initially I was going to rate this product lower, but I reconsidered after thinking about my particular space compared to more modern ones. I live in a divided house that was clearly designed/constructed before AC became a viable solution, so every room in the house is connected via large doorways with transoms, most walls are external, and there are many windows. For my needs, this AC is much better suited than a stationary window unit, since it's very easy to move it between rooms since it's on wheels and installing the exhaust hose to a window is a largely painless process.
The unit does a decent job of cooling in my apartment where it's nearly impossible to effectively isolate a small space, so I imagine it is excellent in a more modern/smaller setting. Lately I've used it primarily in its dehumidifier mode, which in the evenings is tremendously helpful at cooling a room without the added energy use of full AC mode.
in short - a well constructed unit, easy to set up, and it does what it's supposed to
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.