Customer reviews for NewAir NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

NewAir NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

The NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool Portable Air Conditioner provides 12,000 BTUs of cooling power, which is perfect for cooling large living spaces up to 425 square feet.
Overall rating:
4.526 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
17 out of 18(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Review 1 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product is okay but quality of unit is suspect

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Rick
from Seattle, Wa
Product Construction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Product Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Easy to Install 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Easy to Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficient 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This unit is made in China and the construction could have been better. A screw in the bottom on the enclosure was stripped along with medium A/C setting not working
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Air-N-WaterBy Customer ServiceJuly 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of the NewAir AC-12100E. I am sorry to hear that you have experienced issues with this unit and are not satisfied. It sounds as though you have received a defective unit and I have shared your review with the Air & Water customer service department, who will be in contact with you shortly. Additionally, I have shared your review with the manufacturer so they are aware off this issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Keeps cool! Not cold!

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Dad
from Collegeville
Product Construction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trying to cool 20x17 bedroom keeps it cool does not get the room cold after running for 6 hours. Can't compare noise this is the first portable a/c I purchase.About the noise I will said is just like a window unit and Can sleep with the noise. Bought this unit because enery efficient only had 3 weeks not sure how much it saves me on electrical bill. The exhaust hose came off the first night and woke me up in the middle of the night because of the heat coming out of the portable a/c and I had to duct tape back on. I bought this portable a/c to help my central air because my bedroom is warm during the hot months know it is a little cooler with this unit but I rather have a window unit.Bought on sale and free shipping.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice unit, but not as good as I expected

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer avatar
GranNan 04
from Boone, NC, USA
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to Install 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We have a 10,000 BTU unit downstairs and it cools very well. We thought the 12,000 unit would really cool the upstairs.
( same square footage)
It was easy to install, the unit is very nice looking, and fits very well.
It is a little noisier than a window unit, BUT, most importantly, doesn't seem to cool as well as I would like it. It hasn't been that hot outside, only around 80-85, but the unit struggles to cool the room to 75.
It will be ok...but not as good as I expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product does a great job cooling a 500 sq ft area.

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Rick24
from Morgantown, Pa
Product Construction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am totally satisfied with the performance of this unit. It quickly and effectively cools the 500 sq ft area where I have the unit located. The controls are easy to use and understand, my 3 year old grand daughter can operate it. The only complaint is that the window vent insert is a little flimsy and not well constructed. Even though it should fit in double hung windowns I had to modify it and add a piece of wood to the bottom to make it fit the window correctly. Ali in all I am very satisfied with this purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product is worth the money!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Mike
from Illinois, USA
Product Construction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Easy to Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have had the New Aire AC-12100E for 2 weeks now and it has worked fine. Air-N-Water got the product to us quickly and FedEx did a great job of getting it to us without damage. It does a good job cooling our 15 x 15 living room but has to work to lower the temperature on 100+ degree days. It took me about 1/2 hour to set up due to difficulty with installing the hose and window kit into the window. The adapter piece that attaches the hose to the window slide kit wasn't long enough to keep from hitting the frame around the window. I had to cut a piece of 2x4 to put underneath the window kit piece in order for it to fit my window. I found the hose isn't as flexible as I would like but it works. My only other concern was that it doesn't have vents to direct the air to the left or right-it only has vents for up and down movement. Other than those small concerns, I still feel this a/c unit was well worth the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

strong

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer avatar
deb
from merrick ny
Product Construction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the only thing i would have liked if the hose was longer in basement and windows are higher had to put on a small table to reach cools room great and quite
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Kathy
from Minneapolis, MN
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Order items because of the great reviews. AC arrived when they said, little heavier than I thought. We are using the AC at our lake home, which we usually don't need, but summer a little hot. I was a little afraid being a women I wouldn't be able to install myself. To my surprise and a few extra words I did just fine and it works great and we are now cool.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This AC is my hero!

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Bassey
from NE seacoast
Product Construction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
95 degrees in New England? You've got to be kidding! My wall AC unit died, so I purchased this portable unit instead. Great investment. Cools a 500 sq ft space very well. Easy to install and move around on one floor. At 70 lbs., it's too heavy to move quickly to an upper or lower floor. The noise level at low and medium fan speeds can be talked over without strain. The only surprise was the flimsy quality of the removable air filter that must be cleaned every two weeks. I think that could be improved by the manufacturer with little effort or expense.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product/Super efficient

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Retiree33
from Allentown, PA, USA
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was patient enough to order this directly from the Santa Ana facility and have it shipped to my PA home. It was not available locally. Shipping was free; tracking was easy; and it arrived in 5 days as promised. It was perfect for my living room and kitchen cooling needs of approximately 500 sf. It is quiet as stated by the rep when I ordered this model and easy to install and handle. I have no reason to compare it to others because I have personally rated it at the max in all categories!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great purchase

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Sharon
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this air conditioner for a large living room. It was extremely easy to use and did an excellent job of cooling the room without maxing out the temperature settings. It very nicely removed the humidity from the entire first floor. I am so satisfied I will be ordering another for the second floor!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied, so far

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Budget Shopper
from Reno, NV
Product Construction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We researched, read reviews, and decided on NewAir AC-12100E. The shipping was exceptionally fast!!! We happily give 5 stars to air-n-water for the super fast shipping.
We noticed one of the screws at the bottom of the unit came off when opened the box. We could not get the screw back in,--something seemed to be broken,--but it didn't affect the performance of the unit. The plastic casing is definitely flimsy.
We have not gotten a chance to really test the unit as the temperature has not gone back up to the 100's since we received it. Installation was simple enough, and the A/C seems to work fine.
The unit is much quieter than we expected, even quieter than the two window units we had before. We are very happy it is quieter, but, again, it's been unusually cooler in the past few weeks. Hopefully, this unit will prove itself on the energy efficiency, cooling capacity, and the performance.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happily surprised

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Scissorman
from Georgia
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We purchased the New Air after having another larger one that didn't work. We set this one up and were pleasantly surprised at how quickly it cooled off the back room. After the first one we had that didn't work, that was a brand name, we sent it back and researched on the internet and found this one. Being as this was a smaller unit I was sceptical but didn't need to be. Very Happy!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner sold by Air & Water

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer avatar
matkins60871
from Newport News, VA
Product Construction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My purchase experience with Air & Water and their after sale contact
Loved it
We were absolutely thrilled to see the discount available through Brads deals with Air & Water and this made the deal for us purchasing this portable air conditioning unit. They promised a follow up to make sure we are satisfied. We will gladly recommend to friends after a very pleasing and trouble free purchase. They followed up twice with, 1. To see if we got unit un-damaged and 2. to ensure it met our expectations and our needs
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well in a server room.

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
rg
from Michigan
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far this unit has worked well to help cool a small server/storage room (approx. 300sf). It was a little difficult to extend the vent hose without it coming unattached from the unit but otherwise it seems to be working fine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I would recommend this product for anyone living in an apartment

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
PeteF
from Redondo Beach
Product Construction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall, very good. the only draw back was the window vent tube. A little duct tape made it work fine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST PURCHASE EVER MADE!

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Mike C.
from baltimore
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in an apartment complex that forbids the use of window air conditioners. Our bedroom was about 20 degrees hotter than the rest of the apartment, even with window darkening curtains and 2 big fans running. This summer has been hot enough to boil our brains.
I did a lot of research on these portables, and I do mean a lot. I was hesitant about getting one due to the negative reviews about the venting tube, noise, draining, etc. This unit seemed to have the best reviews, or at least the least amount of negatives.
I actually bought it on Ebay, from this same company, but I saved almost $100 off the website price simply by searching for this model. I thought maybe the lower price meant it was a return or something, but they assured me it was a brand new item, just a daily deal special.
It arrived within a week. It took about 5 minutes to install in our 85 degree bedroom (WITH the central air running!). Less than a half hour later the room was a very comfy 75 degrees. An hour after that it was down to the 68 degrees I had set it on. Only problem: I woke up around 4am and had to get another blanket because it was TOO COLD! LOL! I couldn't believe how well this thing worked.
We only run it at night, and I can hardly wait to get home today to turn it on again. And noise? I don't know what the others are complaining about, but this is way quieter thany window unit I've had in the past. I love the way the louvers can be set to swing automatically, too. We like to feel the air blowing on us, so I have it set up with a floor fan in front of it. Not that we need it, it's plenty cold without it. I'm just used to the air flow and noise of a fan.
Installing it in the window was a breeze, no pun intended. No screws, no holes, took about 10 seconds. Added some duct tape all around to ensure no leaks and prevent the tubing from coming disconnected, as some have complained about that, too.
All in all, the best purchase I've made in ages. Do your reasearch and check on Ebay for this seller. They sell it here on their site for 429, I got it for 339 with free shipping.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product does everything I was expecting.

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer avatar
ponce
from Lake Sinclair, Georgia
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are using it to augment the air conditioningin our motor home. It is doing an excellent job even with the temps in the 100's. It took me about 20 inutes to install with relative ease.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable , quiet , efficient , sleek and affordable.

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer avatar
hothothot
from New Jersey
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a birthday gift to my daughter who was fuming in the heat with the stress of exams and the heat .
The exhaust was an issue because we have crank out windows.
When I called the support service they suggested plexiglass and customising it.
What I ended up doing is exhausting it out with a hole in the wall and to the side attic /above the garage.
What a difference. No moving during the winter months .
The whole house does not have to be cooled. Start it before your bedtime routine and whooa it is cool, comfortable and peaceful. My daughter has put it on a timer. She sleeps well and I sleep well because she is not fuming anymore.I also saved thousands if I went with central A/C.
Thank you air-n-water. I strongly recommend. Best buy for my buck. A gift to remember.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NewAir AC-12100E Extreme Cool 12000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2nd time is a charm, so far so good - new machine working like a champ

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer avatar
NoSleepTillBrooklyn
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Product Construction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Install 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficient 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cools Sufficiently 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was initially very leery about buying a product that was only available online, not even so much for the product itself because it got the most decent reviews (versus the proportion of obligatory bad ones - no machine is perfect) I saw while doing my homework, but because shipping to and from NYC is notoriously bad for a variety of reasons. It can and often does end in tears and swearing. The price point of the machine is great, but even still, that's a lot of cash to take a risk on getting an air conditioner shipped from California in one piece. The purchasing process was easy enough, and luckily, we hadn't been hit with a heat wave yet.
Then came the inevitable. When my A/C was delivered by FedEx, it had been beaten to bits 40 ways from Sunday, and shipped upside down. FedEx handled it with *such* care that it managed to have screws shaken loose and internal damage to the grille over the compressor coils INSIDE the machine. I never use FedEx unless I have to, and unfortunately, I have to with Air-N-Water. It was the only part of the process I really didn't like, but it's out of my control. Because of the damage/return policy of Air-N-Water, I was able to get a new machine from them with fairly quick turn time at no additional cost, and they were really great at making sure all of my concerns were addressed. I am fortunate to have the option to work from home when i need to at my job, or it would've been a lot more of a hassle to deal with shipping back and forth. While some of the shipping damage could've been prevented by Air-N-Water the first time by not packing the machine upside down, the shipping damage was all on FedEx, and I credit Air-N-Water for working with me to not have a repeat of the same things happen with the replacement unit. They did also offer me a full refund if I didn't want to bother with the hassle of the replacement, and I still opted for the replacement unit to give them another shot. (and i still needed an A/C unit!)
I got the second shipment - the replacement A/C, this past Friday. I've only had it for a week, but the unit's been working like a champ, and actually cools my entire apartment very well, which is a larger area than it's meant to cool. Portable AC units are not known for being quiet, but considering the 10,000 BTU Royal Sovereign model I've had for a few years worked well but was very noisy, this is comparatively whisper quiet. I kept the louvers on automatic, so they swivel, and within 30 minutes of first turning it on, it did a great job chilling my whole apartment by several degrees! This is not a studio apartment. All my rooms are separate and it's a little more than 500 sq feet. It's parked in my living room because that's the most central location in my apartment, and i haven't used the remote because i haven't needed to. The unit itself is, thankfully, quite small for being that powerful, and also very easy to set up. the window piece is flimsy, but that's kind of expected for all portable A/C units. It didn't exactly fit in the window perfectly, I had a bit of a gap I had to cover and I couldn't use the sliding piece because that would've covered up the vent hole, but that also is not unexpected.
We've just had our first official heat wave in NYC, (thank you Mother Nature for holding off on the oven temps until i GOT my A/C unit!) and I have really been relieved to come home to a nice cool apartment after being melted on the streets and in the subway. I still have my fingers crossed that this unit is as great as so many people say it is, and it keeps running well, granted that i've only had it for a week, but this is the week that counts, and we've got the rest of the summer to go!
I can't really comment on energy efficiency, since it's mid-meter reading, but modern A/C units tend to get more energy efficient every year with the new models, so i am sure it will be better than the old unit I had. It's summer, power bills will be high anyway, but I expect it'll still be pretty reasonable.
So far, two chilled thumbs up.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.